I Still Play


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 05/22/2020
UPC: 075597920864

I Still Play
Artist: Various Artists
Format: CD
New: In Stock $13.98

Available Formats and Editions


1. Move †- By Timo Andres
2. Wise Words †- By Timo Andres
3. Rimsky or La Monte Young †- By Timo Andres
4. I Still Play †- By Jeremy Denk
5. Evening Song No. 2 †- By Timo Andres
6. Song for Bob †- By Timo Andres
7. L.A. Pastorale †- By Brad Mehldau
8. For Bob †- By Timo Andres
9. 42 Years †- By Brad Mehldau
10. Her Wits (About Him) †- By Timo Andres
11. Recessional †- By Randy Newman

More Info:

Nonesuch Records releases I Still Play, an album comprising eleven new solo piano compositions written by artists who have recorded for the label. The pieces were written in honor of the labelís longtime President Bob Hurwitz on the occasion of his 2017 shift into the Chairman Emeritus role after running the label for thirty-two years. I Still Play features works by John Adams, Laurie Anderson, Timo Andres, Louis Andriessen, Donnacha Dennehy, Philip Glass, Nico Muhly, Brad Mehldau, Steve Reich, Pat Metheny, and Randy Newman. The pieces have been recorded by Andres and fellow Nonesuch artist Jeremy Denk, as well as by Mehldau and Newman themselves.