Format: CD
Rel. Date: 07/24/2020
UPC: 5013929472280

Lonely Boy: Asylum Years Anthology (6CD + DVD) [Import]
Artist: Andrew Gold
Format: CD
New: call store to check stock 610-683-5599

Available Formats and Editions


1. That's Why I Love You
2. Heartaches in Heartaches
3. Love Hurts
4. A Note from You
5. Resting in Your Arms
6. I'm a Gambler
7. Endless Flight
8. Hang My Picture Straight
9. Ten Years Behind Me
10. I'm Coming Home
11. Hang My Picture Straight (Live at Santa Monica Civic 1975) (Bonus Track)


1. I Hope You Feel Good
2. Passing Thing
3. Do Wah Diddy
4. Learning the Game
5. Angel Woman
6. Must Be Crazy
7. Lonely Boy
8. Firefly
9. Stay
10. Go Back Home Again
11. One of Them Is Me


1. How Can This Be Love?
2. Oh Urania (Take Me Away)
3. Still You Linger on
4. Never Let Her Slip Away
5. Always for You
6. Thank You for Being a Friend
7. Looking for My Love
8. Genevieve
9. I'm on My Way
10. You're Free
11. Endless Flight (Live at the Gator Bowl, Jacksonville, Florida 1978) (Bonus Track)


1. Kiss This One Goodbye
2. Whirlwind
3. Sooner or Later
4. Leave Her Alone
5. Little Company
6. Brand New Face
7. Nine to Five
8. Stranded on the Edge
9. Make Up Your Mind


1. Within a Word
2. Broken Pinball Machine
3. Ten Years Behind Me (Demo)
4. Lonely Boy (Original Version)
5. Firefly (Early Unfinished Version)
6. Feel It
7. Gorilla Jam
8. Gambler (Version #1)
9. Still You Linger on (Alternate Take)
10. Thank You for Being a Friend (Outtake)
11. Genevieve (Original Version)
12. Gambler (Version #2)
13. Traffic Jam
14. The in Crowd


1. Hope You Feel Good (Live 1977)
2. Stay (Live 1977)
3. That's Why I Love You (Live 1977)
4. Endless Flight (Live 1977)
5. Learning the Game (Live 1977)
6. Hang My Picture Straight (Live 1977)
7. One of Them Is Me (Live 1977)
8. Lonely Boy (Live 1977)
9. Heartaches in Heartaches (Live BBC)
10. That's Why I Love You (Live BBC)
11. Endless Flight (Live BBC)
12. Do Wah Diddy Diddy (Live BBC)
13. Learning the Game (Live BBC)
14. Angel Woman (Live BBC)
15. Hope You Feel Good (Live BBC)
16. One of Them Is Me (Live BBC)
17. Lonely Boy (Live BBC)
18. Go Back Home Again (Live BBC)


1. Lonely Boy (Promo Video)
2. Go Back Home Again (Promo Video)
3. Thank You for Being a Friend (Promo Video)
4. Never Let Her Slip Away (Promo Video)
5. How Can This Be Love (Promo Video)
6. Kiss This One Goodbye (Promo Video)
7. Heartaches in Heartaches (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
8. That's Why I Love You (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
9. Endless Flight (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
10. Do Wah Diddy Diddy (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
11. Learning the Game (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
12. Angel Woman (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
13. Hope You Feel Good (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
14. One of Them Is Me (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
15. Lonely Boy (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
16. Go Back Home Again (Live Old Grey Whistle Test)
17. Hope You Feel Good (Old Grey Whistle Test 1978)
18. Andrew Gold Interview (Old Grey Whistle Test 1978)
19. One of Them Is Me (Old Grey Whistle Test 1978)

More Info:

Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of LONELY BOY - THE ASYLUM YEARS ANTHOLOGY, a newly re-mastered seven disc boxed set featuring all of the solo albums released by legendary singer - songwriter ANDREW GOLD on the Asylum label between 1975 and 1980. One of the finest musicians and songwriters to emerge from the Los Angeles music scene in the mid-1970s, Andrew Gold had already established a reputation as an arranger and key member of Linda Ronstadt's band before breaking out as a solo artist with his self-titled debut album in 1975. His song ENDLESS FLIGHT was covered by British singer Leo Sayer on his album of the same name the following year. The classic album WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE followed in 1976 and spawned the huge hit LONELY BOY and broke Andrew internationally. His third album ALL THIS AND HEAVEN TOO would produce three international hit singles in THANK YOU FOR BEING A FRIEND, NEVER LET HER SLIP AWAY and HOW CAN THIS BE LOVE and was another acclaimed work. The 1980 album WHIRLWIND was Andrew's final album for Asylum. More muscular in nature, it featured the excellent KISS THIS ONE GOODBYE. Andrew Gold's recorded legacy is now celebrated with this boxed set featuring 73 tracks on six CDs, including the albums ANDREW GOLD, WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE, ALL THIS AND HEAVEN TOO & WHIRLWIND; all newly re-mastered from the original Asylum Records master tapes, along with a disc of out-takes and rarities from the album sessions and a CD comprising 18 live tracks (17 previously unreleased) drawn from a concert at the Universal Amphitheater in Los Angeles in 1977 and a BBC TV concert recorded in London in November 1976 for the classic series THE OLD GREY WHISTLE TEST. It also includes an additional 80 minute DVD (NTSC - Region Free) featuring six promotional videos, the complete BBC Old Grey Whistle Test concert recorded in November 1976 and broadcast in March 1977 & a special Andrew Gold feature from the show first broadcast in 1978 - all of which are previously unreleased. The set also includes a lavishly illustrated booklet and a poster. DVD - NTSC 0 region code.