Format: CD
Rel. Date: 02/05/2021
UPC: 5013929474987

Albums 1970-1973 [Remastered] (Uk)
Artist: Curved Air
Format: CD
New: call store to check stock 610-683-5599

Available Formats and Editions


1. It Happened Today
2. Stretch
3. Screw
4. Blind Man
5. Vivaldi
6. Hide and Seek
7. Propositions
8. Rob One
9. Situations
10. Vivaldi with Cannons
11. It Happened Today (Single Version)
12. What Happens When You Blow Yourself Up
13. Young Mother
14. Back Street Luv
15. Jumbo
16. You Know
17. Puppets
18. Everdance
19. Bright Summer's Day '68
20. Piece of Mind
21. Marie Antoinette
22. Melinda (More or Less)
23. Not Quite the Same
24. Cheetah
25. Ultra-Vivaldi
26. Phantasmagoria
27. Whose Shoulder Are You Looking Over Anyway?
28. Over and Over
29. Once a Ghost, Always a Ghost
30. Sarah's Concern
31. The Purple Speed Queen
32. Elfin Boy
33. Metamorphosis
34. World
35. Armin
36. U.H.F
37. Two Three Two
38. Easy

More Info:

Esoteric Recordings is pleased to announce the release of a new clamshell boxed set featuring all four of Curved Air's classic albums recorded between 1970 and 1973. "The Albums" features newly remastered versions of "Air Conditioning", "Second Album", "Phantasmagoria" and "Air Cut", along with bonus tracks 'It Happened Today' (single version), 'What Happens When You Blow Yourself Up' and 'Sarah's Concern', all originally issued as singles. Originally issued on the Warner Bros. Label in November 1970, "Air Conditioning" showcased the highly innovative talents of Sonja Kristina (vocals), ex-Royal College of Music student Darryl Way (violin), former Royal Academy of Music student Francis Monkman (electric guitar, piano, mellotron, VCS3 synthesiser), Rob Martin (bass) and Florian Pilkington-Miksa (drums). Taking their name from the album "A Rainbow in Curved Air" by American composer Terry Riley, Curved Air's debut album perfectly demonstrated the band's innovative musical approach, blending classical, electronic and folk music influences in their work and featuring Sonja Kristina's sublime vocals. Featuring such classic tracks as 'It Happened Today', 'Propositions', 'Vivaldi' and 'Situations', "Air Conditioning" was a Top Ten hit in the UK and firmly established Curved Air as one of Britain's foremost progressive bands. "Second Album", released in 1971, featured a line-up of Sonja Kristina (vocals, acoustic guitar), Darryl Way (violin, piano), Francis Monkman (guitar, keyboards, VCS3), Florian Pilkington-Miksa (drums) and new member Ian Eyre (bass). The album included the classic hit single 'Back Street Luv' along with such classic tracks as 'Young Mother', 'Jumbo', 'Puppets', 'Everdance' and 'Piece of Mind' and was an acclaimed hit album in the UK and Europe. The 1972 album "Phantasmagoria" saw another change of line-up, with Mike Wedgwood replacing Ian Eyre and featured such classic tracks as 'Marie Antoinette', the album title track and 'Melinda (More or Less)'. Curved Air's final album for Warner Bros. #was the 1973 release, "Air Cut", which saw the departure of Darryl Way, Francis Monkman and Florian Pilkington-Miksa. Eddie Jobson joined on violin and keyboards, whilst Kirby Gregory was recruited on guitar and Jim Russell on drums. Perhaps one of Curved Air's most progressive albums, "Air Cut" featured some outstanding compositions such as 'The Purple Speed Queen' and the ten-minute epic 'Metamorphosis'. "The Albums 1970 - 1973" has been newly re-mastered from the original master tapes and is a fine collection of music by one Britain's foremost pioneering progressive rock bands of the 1970s.