Format: Vinyl
Label: COMP
Rel. Date: 05/28/2021
UPC: 766397476810

The Waylon Sessions [LP]
Artist: Shannon Mcnally
Format: Vinyl
New: In Stock $21.98

Available Formats and Editions


1. You Made Me Feel For You
2. I Ain't Gonna Stand For It
3. Banshee Moan
4. I Went To The Well
5. Roll Away The Stone
6. Black Haired Boy
7. Low Rider
8. Isn't That Love?
9. The Stuff You Gotta Watch
10. Prayer In Open D
11. It Makes No Difference
12. Let's Go Home

More Info:

Vinyl LP pressing. 2021 release. Recorded with an all-star band and featuring special guests like Jessi Colter, Buddy Miller, Rodney Crowell, and Lukas Nelson, Shannon McNally's extraordinary collection, The Waylon Sessions, isn't so much a tribute to Waylon Jennings as it is a recontextualization: a nuanced, feminine rendering of a catalog long considered a bastion of hetero-masculinity. That's not to say McNally has a softer, gentler take on the songs of Jennings and his outlaw compatriots here; in fact, just the opposite. Over and over again, she manages to locate a smoldering intensity - a searing hurt buried deep within the music's deceptively simple poetry - and she hones in on it with a surgical precision. McNally doesn't swap pronouns or couch her delivery with a wink; she simply plays it straight, singing her truth as a divorced single mother in her 40's in all it's beauty, pain, and power. The result is that rare covers record that furthers our understanding of the originals, an album of classics that challenges our perceptions and assumptions about just what made them classics in the first place.