Format: CD
Label: CLFC
Rel. Date: 01/22/2021
UPC: 767870666070

Leap Second
Artist: M Castagnetto . Caye
Format: CD
New: In Stock $13.98

Available Formats and Editions


1. I Invented Disco
2. Stopping You
3. Slippery Snakes
4. Mi Mentira
5. All Points North
6. Amor Cabra
7. Hands on the Business
8. Until
9. Street Trees, Evening Green
10. Chase Water, Blue Moon

More Info:

Influenced by a life split between Lima, London, and Twentynine Palms, Peru-born M. Caye Castagnetto's Leap Second is an intriguingly personal and hard to classify debut album. The album is a thick collage of samples Caye recorded with different artists and musicians, including Beatrice Dillon and the late Aileen Bryant, that spans five years in the making. There is something in Leap Second that tracks the speed of bodies, how they approach and retreat. The ten tracks are speedy and languid, thick ruffles, and dirges. In parts it feels like one's stumbled upon a forgotten incredible '70s folk record but that feeling gets broken quickly by clever sleights of hand. Caye's balladry is angular, time is elastic. Each song is a fresh cape. How dandies really mean it, so masc- that it's fay, how the only moment is this one and it's just passed, etcetera."While it doesn't really sound like anything else, there are moments that feel like a Latin-flavored Nico, that's edging it's way towards some of the outings of the Sun City Girls. In my opinion it checks all the boxes, by checking none of them." -Bjorn Copeland, Black Dice "A truly interesting conglomeration of loose inspirations and conjurings. A hard to decipher sound all together which makes it worth every moment... a sprinkling of Catherine Ribeiro, Dr. John, Terje Rypdal and Nico. Far-out sun-soaked odysseys and moon-dappled woodland night creepers... " -John Dwyer