Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 11/13/2020
UPC: 8809114698507

Funky Coup: Korean Soul Funk & Rare Groove Nuggets
Artist: Funky Coup Korean Soul Funk & Rare Groove Nuggets
Format: Vinyl
New: call store to check stock 610-683-5599

Available Formats and Editions


1. Beauty Girls - New Miryang Arirang
2. Kim Ha-Jung - Promise
3. Okhee - What Shall I Do
4. Yoon Bok-Hee - Can't Be Helped
5. Cha Do-Kyun - You're Ok
6. I'm Ok
7. Jungmin ; Cheonggaeguri - Frog's Dream (Memphis Underground)
8. Dongbangeui Bit (Feat. Lee Jang-Hee) - Crying Girl
9. Mujigae Quintet - Family Affair
10. Okhee - Saving My Breath
11. Yoon Soo-Il ; Somsatang - Fluttering Heart
12. Oasis Studio Sessions - Where Do You Go
13. Hye Eun-Yi - Your Voice Over the Phone
14. Devils - Hey J
15. Kim Sung-Ae - Day After Day
16. Kim Hye-Jung - Rainy Night
17. Yoon Si-Nae - Uselessly
18. Moon Ji-Young - Love Tactics
19. In Soon-I - Try Again
20. Norman Records Sessions - Open the Door
21. Hee Sisters - Like a Bird
22. Nami ; Franco Romano Band - Come Back to Me
23. Lee Eun-Ha - Loving Heart
24. Ryu Bok-Sung ; His Bongo Orchestra - Walking the Streets of Myeong-Dong Alone
25. Choi Heon - As Pretty As You
26. Kim Trio - Goodbye to You

More Info:

This compilation brings together, for the first time, the hottest soul/funk gems that moved the clubs and dancefloors during one of the darkest chapters of Korea's modern history under the Yushin dictatorship. It serves as a perfect guide to proto K-pop, featuring various hits from era-defining divas, relatively less-known rare tracks, as well as two previously unreleased instrumental tracks. These tunes offer an excellent primer on how soul, funk, jazz, and disco were adapted to Korea at the time, with most of the tracks sourced from the original master tapes (6 tracks sourced from vinyl).